Slashdot Items Tagged "apps"

Date / Time Story
Tuesday November 14, 2017 @11:32AM The Strange Art of Writing Release Notes
Monday November 13, 2017 @06:25PM Uber Drivers In Lagos Are Using a Fake GPS App To Inflate Rider Fares
Monday November 13, 2017 @04:20PM Google To Kill a Bunch of Useful Android Apps That Rely On Accessibility Services
Friday November 10, 2017 @05:43PM Sex Toy Company Admits To Recording Users' Remote Sex Sessions, Calls It a 'Minor Bug'
Tuesday November 07, 2017 @06:33PM A Huge Redesign Is Coming To Snapchat
Tuesday October 17, 2017 @04:12PM Google Maps Ditches Walking Calorie Counter After Backlash
Wednesday October 11, 2017 @03:43PM Is the Chromebook the New Android Tablet?
Tuesday October 10, 2017 @10:22AM Google Paid $7.2 Billion Last Year To Partners, Including Apple, To Prominently Showcase Its Search Engine and Apps on Smartphones
Monday September 18, 2017 @03:07PM Samsung Finally Lets You Disable the Bixby Button Without a Third-Party App
Monday September 11, 2017 @11:03PM Equifax's App Has Disappeared From Apple's App Store and Google Play
Monday September 11, 2017 @09:43AM I Downloaded an App. Suddenly, I was a Rescue Dispatcher.
Wednesday August 30, 2017 @06:04PM Messaging-App Kik's Big Bet On Digital Coin Offering
Monday August 28, 2017 @01:29PM Tech Firms Team Up To Take Down 'WireX' Android DDoS Botnet
Monday August 28, 2017 @12:14PM Hit App Sarahah Quietly Uploads Your Address Book
Thursday August 24, 2017 @05:45PM Ask Slashdot: Best Non-Smart TV Sets?
Thursday August 24, 2017 @02:17PM These Are the 10 Most Popular Mobile Apps in America
Monday August 21, 2017 @05:29PM Facebook Makes Safety Check a Permanent Feature
Monday August 21, 2017 @03:46PM DJI Spark Owners Must Update Firmware By September, Or Their Machines Will Be Bricked
Wednesday August 16, 2017 @04:29PM 'Surkus' App Pays Users To Line Up Outside New Restaurants
Tuesday August 15, 2017 @04:01PM App Developers Should Charge More If They Want People To Buy Subscriptions, Suggests Report
Monday August 14, 2017 @10:54AM Opera Kills Off Its Free Data-Saving App, Opera Max
Monday August 14, 2017 @08:58AM Spyware Apps Found on Google Play Store
Wednesday August 09, 2017 @03:10PM Disney Sued For Allegedly Spying On Children Through 42 Gaming Apps
Monday August 07, 2017 @02:09PM YouTube Adds Mobile Chat, Because Google Doesn't Have Enough Messaging Apps
Thursday August 03, 2017 @05:40PM Google Now Permits Android Apps That Facilitate Gambling With Real Money
Thursday August 03, 2017 @02:43PM Google's Message To Developers: Fix Your App's Performance Issues Else See Them Demoted On Play Store
Tuesday August 01, 2017 @08:31PM Are App Sizes Out of Control?
Monday July 31, 2017 @04:05PM Microsoft's Windows Phone Keyboard For the iPhone Is Dead
Saturday July 29, 2017 @02:27AM Stealthy Google Play Apps Recorded Calls and Stole Emails
Friday July 28, 2017 @08:37PM Appocalypse Now - How iOS11 Will Kill Some Of Your Favourite iPhone Apps
Wednesday July 26, 2017 @09:02AM Donald Trump Says US Military Will Not Allow Transgender People To Serve
Tuesday July 25, 2017 @03:59PM China Forces Muslim Minority To Install Spyware On Their Phones
Monday July 24, 2017 @11:06AM Uber Takes Inspiration From Its Indian Rival, Plans To Introduce an Infotainment System in Its Cars In the Country
Monday July 24, 2017 @08:51AM Microsoft Paint To Be Killed Off After 32 Years
Wednesday July 19, 2017 @09:38AM Avast Now Owns CCleaner After Acquiring Piriform
Monday July 17, 2017 @04:26PM Ask Slashdot: What Are Some Developer Secrets That Could Sink Your Business?
Monday July 17, 2017 @10:26AM Media Player Classic Home Cinema (MPC-HC) for Windows Pushes What Could Be Its Last Update
Saturday July 15, 2017 @12:56AM Apple's Pitch To Indian Developers: Think Local, Stay Up To Date, and Aim For Design Awards
Thursday July 06, 2017 @09:42AM 'In the Knowledge Economy, We Need a Netflix of Education'
Wednesday July 05, 2017 @04:19PM Slashdot Asks: Your Favorite Ride-Sharing App?
Thursday June 29, 2017 @04:41PM Google Photos 3.0 Released, Bringing Smarter Sharing, Suggestions and Shared Libraries
Thursday June 29, 2017 @03:00PM Uber Crosses 5 Billion Rides
Tuesday June 27, 2017 @02:59PM The App Economy Will Be Worth $6 Trillion in Five Years
Tuesday June 20, 2017 @02:36PM Uber Finally Adds a Tipping Option To Its App
Friday June 16, 2017 @11:49AM The Size of iPhone's Top Apps Has Increased by 1,000% in Four Years
Wednesday June 14, 2017 @02:52PM Samsung Left Millions Vulnerable To Hackers Because It Forgot To Renew a Domain
Friday June 09, 2017 @04:12PM App Store Now Requires Developers To Use Official API To Request App Ratings, Disallows Custom Prompts
Friday June 09, 2017 @09:01AM Skype Retires Older Apps for Windows, Linux
Wednesday June 07, 2017 @03:14PM Airbnb Announces Its Plan To House 100,000 People In Need
Wednesday June 07, 2017 @12:38AM Apple To Phase Out 32-Bit Mac Apps Starting In January 2018
Thursday June 01, 2017 @12:27PM Skype Announces Big Makeover Focused on Messaging and Social Sharing, But Will That Drive Its Popularity?
Thursday June 01, 2017 @10:19AM App Store Earnings For Developers Exceed $70 Billion; App Downloads Up 70% YoY
Wednesday May 31, 2017 @05:05PM Amazon Is Refunding Up To $70 Million In-App Purchases Made By Kids
Thursday May 25, 2017 @06:54PM Messenger App Kik Debuts Its Own Digital Currency
Thursday May 25, 2017 @10:47AM And Now, a Brief Definition of the Web
Wednesday May 24, 2017 @02:10PM Apple Wants To Turn Community College Students Into App Developers
Wednesday May 17, 2017 @03:39PM Android Now Supports the Kotlin Programming Language
Monday May 15, 2017 @06:57AM Google Owns the Classroom
Thursday May 11, 2017 @03:56PM Windows 10 On ARM Will Support x86 Apps From Outside the Store
Thursday May 11, 2017 @02:18PM Amazon Is the 2nd Most Popular App Among Teens, Says Study
Wednesday May 10, 2017 @05:06PM Zillow Faces Lawsuit Over 'Zestimate' Tool That Calculates a House's Worth
Friday May 05, 2017 @03:03PM More Than Half of People Believe Using Spyware To Snoop On Family Members Is Legal, Study Finds
Friday May 05, 2017 @09:58AM Global App Usage Still Rising, and Users in the US Spend 135 Minutes a Day in Them
Friday May 05, 2017 @07:49AM A New Instance of Android Malware is Discovered Every 10 Seconds, Say Researchers
Thursday May 04, 2017 @09:16AM Over 200 Android Apps Are Currently Using Ultrasonic Beacons To Track Users
Tuesday May 02, 2017 @05:21PM Microsoft Is Bringing Office to the Windows Store
Friday April 28, 2017 @04:55PM Airbnb Gives In To Regulator's Demand To Test For Racial Discrimination By Hosts
Monday April 24, 2017 @02:20PM Apple Cuts Affiliate Commissions on Apps and In-App Purchases
Thursday April 20, 2017 @07:56AM Microsoft To Shut Down Wunderlist, an App It Acquired Two Years Ago, In Favor Of Homegrown App To-Do
Wednesday April 19, 2017 @08:58AM Facebook Owns Four Out of the Five Most Downloaded Apps Worldwide
Tuesday April 18, 2017 @02:27PM Apple Makes iMovie, GarageBand, and iWork Apps for Mac and iOS Free for All Users
Thursday April 06, 2017 @04:38PM Alcohol-Related Car Accidents Declined In New York After Introduction of Uber, Analysis Finds
Wednesday April 05, 2017 @05:48PM Amazon Will Refund Millions of Unauthorized In-App Purchases Made By Kids
Tuesday April 04, 2017 @03:41PM Security Researcher Says Samsung's Tizen OS Is The Worst Code He's Ever Seen
Tuesday April 04, 2017 @03:00PM IoT Garage Door Opener Maker Bricks Customer's Product After Bad Review
Monday April 03, 2017 @01:43PM Netflix Now Lets You Download Videos Onto Your PC
Wednesday March 29, 2017 @02:55PM App Store Sales For Android To Overtake Apple's iOS, Research Firm Says
Friday March 24, 2017 @01:13PM The Days of Google Talk Are Over
Wednesday March 22, 2017 @09:20PM Researchers Develop App That Accurately Determines Sperm Quality
Wednesday March 22, 2017 @03:05PM GNOME 3.24 Released
Tuesday March 14, 2017 @03:55PM Chrome 57 Limits Background Tabs Usage To 1% Per CPU Core
Thursday March 02, 2017 @06:44PM NASA Releases 2017-2018 Catalog of Software For Free
Thursday February 23, 2017 @03:14PM Cellebrite Can Now Unlock Apple iPhone 6, 6 Plus
Tuesday February 21, 2017 @02:58PM Health Apps Could Be Doing More Harm Than Good, Warn Scientists
Friday February 17, 2017 @07:32PM Researchers Discover Security Problems Under the Hood of Automobile Apps
Tuesday February 14, 2017 @09:28AM Skype Gets A New Competitor: Amazon Announces Chime
Monday February 13, 2017 @07:11AM Angry Birds Is the Most-Banned Mobile App By Businesses
Friday February 10, 2017 @02:43PM Google Might Be Gearing Up To Remove Millions of Play Store Apps Next Month
Monday February 06, 2017 @11:25PM Dozens of Popular iOS Apps Vulnerable To Intercept of TLS-Protected Data
Friday February 03, 2017 @03:41PM Google Will Reportedly Remove Google Now Launcher From Play Store
Friday February 03, 2017 @09:18AM Google Is Integrating Progressive Web Apps Deeper Into Android
Thursday February 02, 2017 @05:16PM Snapchat Files For a $3 Billion IPO
Wednesday February 01, 2017 @03:16PM Tim Sweeney Dislikes Windows 10 Cloud Rumors, Calls OS 'Crush Steam Edition'
Tuesday January 31, 2017 @05:53PM Apple Sets a New Record For iPhone Sales
Tuesday January 31, 2017 @03:00PM Roku Owners: Comcast Is About To Sell You Cable TV Without the Cable Box
Friday January 27, 2017 @04:53PM Apple Is Moving Its Entire International iTunes Business To Ireland
Monday January 23, 2017 @02:58PM Google Voice Receives First Update in Five Years
Monday January 23, 2017 @09:48AM Android Device's Pattern Lock Can Be Cracked Within Five Attempts, Researchers Show
Monday January 23, 2017 @09:31AM Every Upcoming Chromebook Will Run Android Apps
Thursday January 19, 2017 @03:20PM Tech Firm Creates Trump Monitor For Stock Markets
Wednesday January 18, 2017 @07:06PM Apple Increases App Store Prices By 25% Following Brexit Vote
Wednesday January 18, 2017 @09:31AM Android Will Now Store Google Searches Offline and Deliver Them When You Get Signal
Tuesday January 17, 2017 @09:39AM Worldwide App Downloads Grew 15% and Revenue Soared 40% in 2016
Tuesday January 17, 2017 @09:05AM Apple App Store Prices Rise in UK, India and Turkey
Monday January 16, 2017 @09:35AM China Orders App Stores To Join Register
Wednesday January 11, 2017 @10:07AM Instagram Stories Hits 150M Active Users, Adds Advertising To Instagram Stories
Thursday January 05, 2017 @09:42AM Apple App Store Developers Earned $20 Billion in 2016, Up 40 Percent Year Over Year
Tuesday January 03, 2017 @03:24PM Intel Acquires 15 Percent Stake In Mapping Firm HERE
Saturday December 31, 2016 @04:56PM Google and Facebook Dominate The List of 2016's Top Ten Apps
Friday December 30, 2016 @02:47PM Postal, the Legendarily Violent Video Game by Running With Scissors, Is Now Open Source
Thursday December 29, 2016 @02:14PM Google Mobile Search Shows Recipe Suggestions When You Look For Food
Thursday December 29, 2016 @01:37PM Nintendo's Super Mario Run For Android is Coming Soon
Thursday December 29, 2016 @08:48AM Amazon's Digital Day is Like Cyber Monday But For Downloads
Friday December 23, 2016 @05:57PM BitTorrent Live's 'Cable Killer' P2P Video App Finally Hits iOS
Thursday December 22, 2016 @03:16PM Pokemon Go Arrives On the Apple Watch
Wednesday December 21, 2016 @10:10AM Nintendo's Mobile Mario Game Sets Download Record But Pricing Proves Sticking Point
Monday December 19, 2016 @04:20PM Google Releases Tool To Find Common Crypto Bugs
Friday December 16, 2016 @08:41AM Evernote Reverses Course On Opt-out Privacy Policy That Would've Exposed Users' Content To Employees
Thursday December 15, 2016 @03:38PM Super Mario Run Is Now Available
Thursday December 15, 2016 @10:37AM Twitter Built a Messaging App But Never Released It
Wednesday December 14, 2016 @03:28PM India Just Flew Past Us In the Race To E-Cash
Wednesday December 14, 2016 @02:10PM Starting Next Year, Evernote Employees Could Access Your Unencrypted Notes
Monday December 12, 2016 @08:33PM Quest Diagnostics Says Personal Health Information of 34,000 Customers Hacked
Monday December 12, 2016 @10:21AM Latest Microsoft Skype Preview Adds Real-Time Voice Translation For Phone Calls
Friday December 09, 2016 @04:18PM Bose Launches 'Hearphones' That Act Like Hearing Aids
Thursday December 08, 2016 @04:53PM Yik Yak Lays Off 60 Percent of Employees As Growth Collapses
Monday December 05, 2016 @10:05AM New Google Trusted Contacts Service Shares User Location In Real Time
Thursday December 01, 2016 @10:54PM Multiple Vulnerabilities In AirDroid Opens At Least 10 Million Android Users To MITM Attacks, Hijackings
Thursday December 01, 2016 @05:42PM Apple Will Use Drones To Improve the Quality of Apple Maps
Thursday December 01, 2016 @04:30PM Earthquake-Sensing Mobile App 'MyShake' Detects Over 200 Earthquakes Large and Small
Tuesday November 29, 2016 @03:17PM Microsoft Brings Collaborative Editing To PowerPoint On Desktop
Monday November 28, 2016 @08:10PM CNN Acquires Social-Video Startup Beme, Co-Founded By YouTube Star Casey Neistat
Monday November 28, 2016 @09:24AM The Mac App Store Is Full of Scams
Friday November 25, 2016 @12:08PM VLC Media Player Previews 360-degree Video Support
Friday November 25, 2016 @07:05AM Police in UK Warn About Dating Apps After Serial Killer Conviction
Wednesday November 23, 2016 @04:50PM Telegram Launches Telegraph, An Anonymous Blogging Platform
Tuesday November 22, 2016 @05:09PM Tor-Enabled Smartphone Is Antidote To Google 'Hostility' Over Android, Says Developer
Monday November 21, 2016 @12:38PM Microsoft's x86 on ARM64 Emulation: A Windows 10 Redstone 3 Fall 2017 Feature
Thursday November 17, 2016 @04:06PM New Chrome Extension Automatically Negotiates With Comcast For Rate Discounts
Tuesday November 15, 2016 @09:32AM WhatsApp, Used By Over One Billion People, Gets Video Calling Feature
Monday November 14, 2016 @05:51PM Shazam Keeps Your Mac's Microphone Always On, Even When You Turn It Off
Monday November 14, 2016 @02:53PM Internet Freedom Wanes As Governments Target Messaging, Social Apps
Monday November 14, 2016 @10:47AM Samsung Really, Really Wants Developers To Build Tizen Apps
Thursday November 10, 2016 @09:18PM Spotify Is Writing Massive Amounts of Junk Data To Storage Drives
Thursday November 10, 2016 @03:52PM Instagram Brings Mentions, Links, and Boomerang To Stories
Thursday November 10, 2016 @11:26AM Just in Time for Daydream, YouTube Launches Its Standalone VR App
Tuesday November 08, 2016 @09:44AM Twitter May Save Vine by Selling it
Monday November 07, 2016 @05:18PM Uber, Lyft, Zipcar Offer Free Or Discounted Rides To Polls On Election Day
Monday November 07, 2016 @04:33PM Gmail's iPhone App Now Has 'Undo Send' and Faster Search
Friday November 04, 2016 @05:45PM Turkey Doubles Down On Censorship With Block On VPNs, Tor
Wednesday November 02, 2016 @05:02PM LastPass On Mobile Is Now Free
Tuesday November 01, 2016 @05:56PM Google Security Engineer Claims Android Is Now As Secure As the iPhone
Tuesday November 01, 2016 @09:23AM Opera Max Turns To Nagware, Now Prompts Users To Re-enable It Every 12 Hours
Thursday October 27, 2016 @03:33PM Apple Debuts New 'TV' Guide and Watchlist App For Apple TV, iPhone and iPad
Thursday October 27, 2016 @01:55PM Twitter is Shutting Down Its Video App Vine
Thursday October 27, 2016 @12:29AM WhatsApp Is Rolling Out Video Calls On Its Android App
Wednesday October 26, 2016 @06:59PM Delta Now Lets You Track Your Baggage In Real-Time
Tuesday October 25, 2016 @03:50PM Benchmark Battle October 2016: Chrome Vs. Firefox Vs. Edge
Tuesday October 25, 2016 @03:30PM Apple Has Created 'Detailed Mockups' of iMessage For Android
Saturday October 22, 2016 @12:16PM Governor Cuomo Bans Airbnb From Listing Short-Term Rentals In New York
Thursday October 20, 2016 @10:15AM China Overtakes the US in iOS App Store Revenue
Tuesday October 18, 2016 @08:28PM Chrome For Android Gets Its Own Canary Channel
Thursday October 13, 2016 @06:33PM Facebook Now Lets You Use Google Cast or AirPlay To Stream Video On Your TV
Thursday October 13, 2016 @03:53PM Evernote Confirms a Serious Bug Caused Data Loss For Some Mac Users
Wednesday October 12, 2016 @06:34PM Doctors Perform Better Than Internet Or App-Based Symptoms Checkers, Says Study
Tuesday October 11, 2016 @04:10PM Pokemon Go Could Add 2.83 Million Years To Users' Lives, Says Study
Tuesday October 11, 2016 @03:45PM US Military Is Looking At Blockchain Technology To Secure Nuclear Weapons
Friday October 07, 2016 @08:01PM Microsoft Is Redesigning the Paint App For Windows 10
Tuesday October 04, 2016 @10:03PM BadKernel Vulnerability Affects One In 16 Android Smartphones
Tuesday October 04, 2016 @04:44PM Encryption App Signal Wins Fight Against FBI Subpoena and Gag Order
Monday October 03, 2016 @04:37PM The Microsoft Band Is Dead
Monday October 03, 2016 @08:05AM Facebook Releases Messenger Lite For People On Slower Networks and With Old and Basic Android Phones
Friday September 30, 2016 @05:17PM Facebook 'Messenger Day' Is the Chat App's New Snapchat Stories Clone
Thursday September 29, 2016 @05:54PM Google Rebrands 'Apps for Work' To 'G Suite,' Adds New Features
Wednesday September 28, 2016 @11:59PM The UK's Largest Sperm Bank Is Now An App
Tuesday September 27, 2016 @06:07PM Aetna To Provide Apple Watch To 50,000 Employees, Subsidize Cost For Customers
Monday September 26, 2016 @06:55PM Windows 10 Will Soon Run Edge In a Virtual Machine To Keep You Safe
Thursday September 22, 2016 @07:41PM Google Play Starts Bringing Android Apps To Chromebooks
Wednesday September 21, 2016 @09:50AM Google Backs Off On Previously Announced Allo Privacy Feature
Monday September 19, 2016 @03:50PM Google Launches 'Google Trips' Personalized Travel Planner
Sunday September 18, 2016 @02:34PM Uber Accused of Cashing In On Bomb Explosion By Jacking Rates
Friday September 16, 2016 @02:19PM Half Of US Smartphone Users Download Zero Apps Per Month
Thursday September 15, 2016 @04:57PM Over 500K People Have Installed a Pokemon Go-Related App That Roots and Hijacks Android Devices
Tuesday September 13, 2016 @03:30PM Pokemon Go's Paying Population Drops By 79% -- Still Most Profitable Mobile App In The US
Monday September 12, 2016 @11:15PM Instagram Rolls Out 'Keyword Moderation Tool' That Will Filter Out Offensive Comments
Thursday September 08, 2016 @07:30PM Amazon Launches Updated Fire HD 8 Tablet Now With Alexa Voice Services
Wednesday September 07, 2016 @11:09AM Snapchat Cuts Local Stories Curators in Strategy Shift for Live
Monday September 05, 2016 @09:12AM Apps Are Devouring the Open Web
Sunday September 04, 2016 @06:43PM Microsoft Helps Develop Smart, IoT-Enabled Refrigerators
Thursday September 01, 2016 @10:50PM PC-BSD Follows a Rolling Release Model, Gets Renamed To TrueOS
Thursday September 01, 2016 @02:48PM Apple To Remove Abandoned Apps From The App Store
Wednesday August 31, 2016 @02:28PM Google Search For Android Now Finds Info Hidden Inside Apps
Monday August 29, 2016 @05:35PM C Programming Language Hits a 15-Year Low On The TIOBE Index
Friday August 26, 2016 @03:47PM Spotify Is Burying Tracks From Musicians Who Give Exclusives To Apple and Tidal
Friday August 26, 2016 @02:54PM Hillary Clinton Used BleachBit To Wipe Emails
Friday August 26, 2016 @09:05AM Facebook's WhatsApp Data Gambit Faces Federal Privacy Complaint
Wednesday August 24, 2016 @06:03PM YouTube Plans To Bring Photos, Polls, and Text To Its Video Service
Wednesday August 24, 2016 @01:31AM Opera Brings Its Free VPN Service To Android
Wednesday August 24, 2016 @12:10AM Microsoft Buys AI-Powered Scheduling App Genee
Tuesday August 23, 2016 @06:14PM Pinterest Acquires Instapaper